Save it. Tap the bookmark button (Save for later) on the episode.
Castria never automatically deletes a saved episode's download, whatever your download limits or Delete after played setting. Saved episodes also don't count toward a show's download limit.
Episodes in Up Next, and the episode that's playing, are protected the same way.
Mark as played and Mark all as played… also leave saved episodes' downloads alone.